top of page

Group Classes

​Weekly group classes are an excellent way to learn technique and choreography. To register, click on the studio offering the class that suits your schedule and level.

FB Cover mars 2024 - Jill Otter dance.jpg

Spring 2024 classes are approaching and registrations are open! In studio, online with Zoom or both (weekly group classes are offered in French only. Check out my Patreon for English recorded classes, over 120 tutorials so far!). Also, lookout for special activities and upcoming workshops on the main page.

  • At the Maison pour la Danse, studio F from March 20, 8:15 p.m. (advanced neobellydance)

  • At the YWCA, small gym from March 19, 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. (neobellydance inter and FCBD Style)

  • At Studio Danse Mirage (SDM) from March 25 (Bollywood),

 

 

To join a group or for more information on registration, please refer to these organizations or contact me in the case of the Maison pour la Danse and YWCA (neobellydance and FCBD Style). Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Bollywood et niveaux

What are we learning in weekly classes?

 

Each week, the student gets familiar with new movements and improves by repetition and phrase drills. Dancing is always the main part of the class and the group is able to improvise on music from the very first lesson by following the teacher. Additional exercises and/or learning an original choreography is usually a part of the corpus. In some instances, students may perform in a show on a voluntary basis. Each class begins with a quick warmup and ends with cooldown/streching. The class develops itself with the help of students' interest and is given in a positive and playful atmosphere.

IMG_20190406_162346_371.jpg

Definition of levels in bollywood dance

 

in Bollywood, 3 level are currently offered. If you have already taken indian dance classes before, contact me by email to discuss which level would suits your experience best.

 

Level 1

The student learns basic technique and how to link movements together to dance on his favorite songs. He gets familiar with expression, indian culture and gestures. He is able to improvise by repeating the vocabulary many times, to create variations and to travel. Example of choreography!

 

Level 2

The student expands his vocabulary and starts distinguishing various indian dance styles in bollywood. He learns to execute multiple movements at the same time and is able to dance with more speed and ease, knowing well the basics. Some mudras are used and props might be included in the corpus. Example of choreography! Try a class here!

Level 3

The student knows an extensive vocabulary of movements associated with a particular folklore or tradition. Phrases are more complex and include a lot of details and intricaties that can be mastered by more advanced technical exercises. Particular attention is also given to presence, story and emotion. He might use some props.

bande assiette low.jpg

"Jill Otter’s classes and workshops are packed with information. An excellent teacher, Jill gives very precise explanations and knows how to give all the little details that allow us to improve. She does not only teach choreography or technique, but brings us to meet other cultures."

—  Sonia Blouin, dance teacher & colleague

Definition of levels in bollywood dance

 

in Bollywood, 3 level are currently offered. If you have already taken indian dance classes before, contact me by email to discuss which level would suits your experience best.

 

Level 1

The student learns basic technique and how to link movements together to dance on his favorite songs. He gets familiar with expression, indian culture and gestures. He is able to improvise by repeating the vocabulary many times, to create variations and to travel. Example of choreography!

 

Level 2

The student expands his vocabulary and starts distinguishing various indian dance styles in bollywood. He learns to execute multiple movements at the same time and is able to dance with more speed and ease, knowing well the basics. Some mudras are used and props might be included in the corpus. Example of choreography! Try a class here!

Level 3

The student knows an extensive vocabulary of movements associated with a particular folklore or tradition. Phrases are more complex and include a lot of details and intricaties that can be mastered by more advanced technical exercises. Particular attention is also given to presence, story and emotion. He might use some props.

bottom of page

top of page

Cours de groupe

​Les cours de groupe donnés à chaque semaine sont une excellente façon d’apprendre technique et chorégraphie. Pour s’inscrire, cliquez sur l’organisme qui offre le cours convenant à votre horaire.

FB Cover mars 2024 - Jill Otter dance.jpg

La session de printemps 2024 approche et les inscriptions sont en cours! En présentiel, en ligne et en format hybride selon les organismes. Trouvez des classes vidéos supplémentaires à tous les mois sur Patreon (plus de 120 tutoriels à ce jour!). Restez à l'affût d'activités et ateliers spéciaux à venir dans la section événement de la page principale.

  • À la Maison pour la Danse, studio F dès le 20 mars 20h15 (neobellydance avancé)

  • Au YWCA, petit gym dès le 19 mars 19h et 20h (neobellydance inter et FCBD Style)

  • Au Studio Danse Mirage (SDM) dès le 25 mars (bollywood),

 

Pour joindre un groupe ou pour plus d'information sur les inscriptions, veuillez vous référer à ces organismes ou me joindre dans le cas de la Maison pour la Danse et YWCA (neobellydance). N'hésitez pas à me contacter pour toute aide supplémentaire.

Bollywood et niveaux

Qu’est-ce qu’on apprend dans les cours hebdomadaires ?

 

À chaque semaine, l’élève se familiarise à de nouveaux mouvements qu’il peut améliorer avec la répétition et la pratique d’enchaînements. La danse est au cœur de la séance : le groupe pourra déjà improviser sur des musiques au premier cours en se laissant guider par la professeure. Des exercices supplémentaires et/ou l’apprentissage d’une chorégraphie originale fait généralement partie du corpus. Dans certains cas, la performance en spectacle est possible sur une base volontaire. Le cours débute toujours par un petit réchauffement et se termine par des étirements. Le cours progresse aussi selon l’intérêt des élèves et pour que chacun y évolue de façon positive et divertissante.

IMG_20190406_162346_371.jpg

Définition des niveaux en bollywood (donnés au Studio Danse Mirage)

 

En bollywood, 3 niveaux sont présentement offerts. Si vous avez déjà pris des cours de danses indiennes auparavant, contactez-moi par courriel afin de savoir quel niveau conviendrait le mieux à votre expérience.

 

Niveau 1

L’élève y apprend des bases techniques et comment joindre les mouvements ensemble pour danser sur ses musiques favorites. Il se familiarise à l’expression, la culture et la gestuelle. Il est en mesure d’improviser en répétant plusieurs fois les mêmes mouvements, créer des variantes et faire des déplacements. Aperçu de chorégraphie! Essayez une classe ici!

 

Niveau 2

L’élève enrichit son vocabulaire et discerne peu à peu les différents styles de danses indiennes qui influencent le bollywood. Il apprend à superposer différents mouvements et est en mesure de danser plus rapidement et aisément avec les techniques de base. Il connaît certains mudras et la manière de les utiliser. Il peut être amené à utiliser certains accessoires. Aperçu de chorégraphie! Essayez une classe ici!

 

Niveau 3

L’élève connaît un vocabulaire étendu de mouvements qu’il est en mesure d’associer avec un folklore ou une tradition particulière. Les combinaisons de mouvements sont plus complexes et comportent beaucoup de détails et de subtilité qu’il peut maîtriser par des exercices techniques plus poussés. Une attention particulière est également donnée sur la présence et l’émotion. Il peut être amené à utiliser certains accessoires. 

bande assiette low.jpg

« Les cours et les ateliers de Jill Otter débordent d’informations. Excellente pédagogue, Jill donne des explications très précises et sait remarquer tous les petits détails qui nous permettent de progresser. Elle n’enseigne pas seulement des chorégraphies ou de la technique, mais nous amène à la rencontre d’autres cultures. »

—  Sonia Blouin, collègue

Politique de remboursement et responsabilité

 

Jill Otter Danse se dégage de toute responsabilité en cas de bris, incident ou blessure dans le cadre des cours, ateliers et activités offerts en son nom. Référez-vous aux organismes employeurs selon le cas pour les autres activités. Le bon jugement de chacun est demandé avant de participer ou pendant les activités.

Pour les sessions de cours, un remboursement est possible jusqu'à la moitié de la session (ex : session de 10 cours, remboursement possible jusqu'avant le 6e cours). Un montant proportionnel aux cours passés (suivis ou non) ainsi qu'un frais d'administration de 20$ sera prélevé du montant original. Il est possible d'obtenir un remboursement complet pour les ateliers et les autres activités tant que ces derniers n'ont pas encore eu lieu (suivis ou non).

bottom of page